APRI L 2001

JUMPING WORLD CUP FINAL IN GOTEBORG Markus Fuchs is the first Swiss World Cup Champion

The 23rd World Cup Final was held from 12 to 16 April 2001 in Goteborg (SWE). For the first time in the World Cup history, a Swiss rider earned the coveted World Cup title on Monday, in front of a crowd of 12.000 enthusiastic spectators. Markus Fuchs and his stallion Tinka's Boy is the new World Cup champion after a victorious jump-off against the titleholder, Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA) and Baloubet du Rouet.

The British pair Michael Whitaker and Handel II took the 3rd place ahead of another Swiss, Willi Melliger and Calvaro V.

45 riders from 14 countries competed in Goteborg during the Easter week-end, among whom 19 were participating in a World Cup Final for the first time. It is the 3rd time in the history of the World Cup that a jump-off has been held to decide the winner. The first time was during the first edition of the Final in 1979 in Goteborg and the second time in Geneva in 1996. On both occasions, Hugo Simon was the winner.

The Americans were very successful in Goteborg and placed 5 riders in the Top 10. None of the 9 German riders who qualified for the Final could make it to the Top 10. Chieko Yamagushi, is the first Japanese lady to have competed in a Jumping World Cup Final, she finished 37th.

The world champion Markus Fuchs has been in Egypt one time only, competing at the Sakkara International 1997 organized by ESG, riding the late Bentley and was in the placings during the 3 days of the show.

Course Designer: Olaf Petersen, GER Judges: Hanfried Haring (GER), Sven Holmberg (SWE), Jonas Borup (FIN), Margareta Wetterberg (SWE) TD: David Ballard, CAN <u>Eoreian Vet Del: Markus Müller, SUI</u>



Michael Whitaker and Handel II, great



Ludger Beerbaum, hit the dirt in the jump off



Markus Fuchs and Tinka's Boy World Cup Champions 2001



Willi Melliger and Calvaro, Fourth

- Final Place, Rider, Nation, Horse
- 1 Markus Fuchs (SUI) Tinka's Boy
- 2 Rodrigo Pessoa (BRA) Baloubet du Rouet
- 3 Michael Whitaker (GBR) Handel II
- 4 Willi Melliger (SUI) Calvaro V
- 5 Candice King (USA) John Em
- 6 Leslie Howard (USA) Priobert de Kalvarie
- 6 Peter Wylde (USA) Macanudo de Niro
- 8 Molly Ashe (USA) Kroongravin
- 9 Lauren Hough (USA) Windy City
- 9 Ludo Philippaerts (BEL) Verelst Otterongo
- 9 Nicole Shahinian-Simpson (USA) El Campeons Cirka Z
- 12 Rene Tebbel (GER) Meurer's Le Patron
- 13 Thomas Voss (GER) Clinton
- 14 Franke Sloothaak (GER) Joli Coeur
- 14 Ludger Beerbaum (GER) Goldfever
- 16 Jessica Kürten (IRL) Paavo N
- 17 Jan Tops (NED) Roofs
- 17 Margie Goldstein-Engle (USA) Perin
- 17 Ray Texel (USA) Fleur Z
- 20 Lars Nieberg (GER) Loro Piana Esprit FRH
- 21 Jos Lansink (BEL) TNT Cordijana Z
- 22 Wim Schr?der (NED) Eurocommerce Monaco
- 23 Yves Houtackers (NED) Jonggor's Kid Gentleman
- 24 Peter Eriksson (SWE) VDL Cardento
- 25 Jerry Smit (ITA) Jamiro Results by: SPORT COMPUTER GRAPHICS, VRIES (NED)